SATURDAY STUMBLE: Kuppa Roastery Cafe / Magpie Cafe

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

If this will be your last summer vacation for the next forty years, how are you going to spend it?

People normally get to answer this question before they’re 20, before résumés are sent out to mark the beginning of struggling yuppie life. On the other hand, post-grad students like me have the luxury to answer this question much later. And my time has come.

Knowing this is going to be my last summer vacation in a while made me want to go to as much places as my student savings and parents’ budget can take me and to take in as much as my senses allow. Sadly, I’ve been treating my summer like how I’ve been treating my writing. I wasted the past month lying in bed, complaining about the heat but that nonsense will end as well (I only wish this ridiculous heat ends, too)!!!

Saturday Stumble will be a round-up of things I stumble upon (God, I’m clever), where I (mostly) eat or go to some place new! I’ve always wanted to blog about traveling, but until I become the richest Asian forensic pathologist of the 21st century, I’ll stick with places within my reach.

So… Here’s what happened today!

My friend Lex and I already planned the day before meeting up and agreed to have lunch in BGC before I take her to StrEAT Maginhawa Food Park, which she had been wanting to try for a while.

We opted for Kuppa, a quaint cafe at the corner of 4th and 31st  where we walked to (BGC can be a f*cking maze especially if the only familiar area to you is High Street). Being dieters in denial, we both decided sandwiches as the best choice, and completely ignored the fact that Kuppa offered salads.

Reuben Sandwich (corned beef, sauerkraut, and cheese) with chips and a a small salad

Reuben Sandwich (corned beef, sauerkraut, and cheese) with chips and a a small salad

Lex had a grilled cheese sandwich – a choice I still don’t understand since the whole point of going here was to try something new. Girl, we walked for 15 minutes under the raging heat just so you can eat cheesy bread?! But she’s a grown independent woman who paid for my coffee so I shut up and watched as she tried to enjoy her sandwich (she did not.)

Kuppa Cafe

Despite being on the separate specials menu, there was nothing special about my sandwich – but it was satisfying enough.  The coffee and ambience were good though. I think we could have been happier if we ordered the higher calorie meals and desserts 😦

We walked back to High Street to check out new books at Fully Booked. This is where I told Lex I’ve decided I would buy this branch one day and claim it as my own library, or at least build a library as big as this. You have no idea how long I could take in a bookstore.

I can live here forever

I can live here forever

We spent a good hour (or maybe two? I don’t know. Time stops when you’re surrounded by books) in there before driving to Maginhawa. We had to wait for another hour before shops opened.

Moments before the vultures came and circled The Lost Bread for their piece of cotton candy and popcorn  milkshake

Moments before the vultures came and circled The Lost Bread for their piece of cotton candy and popcorn milkshake

No, we did NOT queue up for a cotton candy and popcorn milkshake. Sadly, it was too early for dinner and chose Magpie Cafe for the drinks… Friendly advice: Don’t go to Magpie Cafe just for the drinks.

These beverages were as plain as this photo

These beverages were as plain as this photo

I think overall, we could’ve enjoyed these places if only we ordered the right set of food and drink but our body issues got the best of us. Friendly advice #2: If you’re on a quest to try new things, don’t hold back on the best parts of everything. I’m just thankful we at least enjoyed each other’s company and mitigated our disappointment.

Friendly advice #3: Pick the friends you’re sure you’ll enjoy the day with, regardless of the quality of what you choose to try.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “SATURDAY STUMBLE: Kuppa Roastery Cafe / Magpie Cafe

Leave a comment